Matt Allen's Botin 52 Ichi Ban won the 2019 Flinders Islet Race.
Matt Allen's Botin 52 Ichi Ban won the 2019 Flinders Islet Race.

More than a third of the 2021 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race fleet will begin their 2021/22 Audi Centre Sydney Blue Water Pointscore (BWPS) campaign tomorrow, with a strong fleet of 44 boats set to take on the Flinders Islet Race. 

The 88 nautical mile race starts at 1000hrs near Point Piper on Sydney Harbour and takes competitors south down the coast to round Flinders Islet, approximately one nautical mile east off Port Kembla Harbour, before returning to finish in Sydney Harbour. 

This is the first of four races in the 2021/22 Audi Centre Sydney BWPS, which culminates in the return of the Rolex Sydney Hobart on Sunday 26 December. 

Among the fleet is Matt Allen’s Botin 52 Ichi Ban, overall winner of the 2019 Flinders Islet Race, and David Griffith’s JV62 Whisper, the Line Honours winner that year. 

Matt Donald and Chris Townsend will begin the defense of their Audi Centre Sydney BWPS title, with Gweilo one of six TP52s in the fleet alongside Sam Haynes’ Celestial, Gordon Ketelbey’s Zen, David Doherty’s Matador, Craig Neil’s Quest and Seb Bohm’s Smuggler.  

The race will provide an early preview of the Two-Handed Division’s debut in the Rolex Sydney Hobart, with seven double-handed crews beginning their Audi Centre Sydney BWPS campaign: Crux (Carlos Aydos & Peter Grayson), Disko Trooper_Contender Sailcloth (Jules Hall & Jan Scholten), Eora (Rupert Henry & Greg O’Shea), Local Hero (Mark Ayto & Anto Sweetapple), Rum Rebellion (Shane Connelly & Graeme Dunlop), Salt Shaker (Peter Franki & Drew Jones), and Speedwell (Campbell Geeves & Wendy Tuck)

More Details about it Here: Audi Centre Sydney Blue Water Pointscore For 2021-22