Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race Start Lines
Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race Start Lines

To accomodate the 150+ strong fleet, the 75th Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race will use four separate start lines. Five turning marks will be set to ensure all competitors are required to sail the same total distance.

The 75th edition of the race starts at 1pm AEDT on Sydney Harbour. After clearing the heads and their assigned turning marks, the yachts will continue down the 628 nautical mile rhumb line before turning right at Tasman Island to continue across Storm Bay and up the Derwent River to the finish line at Hobart.

Rolex Sydney Hobart Race - Official Course Map
Rolex Sydney Hobart Race – Official Course Map

Depending on the forecast wind, current and other factors, many yachts will sail away from the rhumb line to find the most favourable (and fast) conditions for their yacht. Getting these tactics right is critical to their overall performance in the race.

If you’re in Australia and want to follow the action, the 2019 Rolex Sydney Hobart will be broadcast on the screens of 7, with the race start telecast, featuring commentary from Mark Beretta and Peter Shipway, on 7 Mate from 12:30pm. Australian viewers on the go can also watch the broadcast on 7plus, with additional camera footage from on board InfoTrack available via the streaming service.

International viewers can watch the broadcast live on the official race website – Fox Sports Asia and ABC Australia will also broadcast the race start live to their respective international markets.